Firsties!

Well, hello there.

I’ve been thinking a lot about women in media lately.  Well, that’s not entirely true.  I’ve always examined women in media – both their portrayals and their roles as content makers.  Partly in response to a cultural trend towards critiquing all things lady and partly as a tool of figuring out who I am as a writer, I find myself creating this blog.

Ugh.  Blog.  Even writing that word makes me hate myself a little bit.  (More than usual.)  But as I’ve dipped my toe into the interwebs recently, commenting sparingly on blogs I follow, I realize I have more to say than I think I do.

I say this now.  Wait until weeks go by between posts.  In an effort to quash such inertia, I’m enforcing a song a day/photo a day mandate.  This is an experiment I’ve had success with in the past.  Forcing myself to check in and add something will probably get the wheels churning in another direction.  Did that metaphor make sense?

Reacting is always easier than acting.  Commenting is fun, but it also keeps me in a safe zone of assessing from afar while not really risking anything.  I work in film in NY  so I pretty much do this for a living – comment on other people’s work.  But I’m also a writer (almost) who wants to drop the parenthetical at some point and start being someone to critique.  So in this tiny tiny way, this blog will take me off the bench and into the thick of it.

But the scope of this experiment will be wider (probs) than just vaginas + movies/tv.  Knowing my penchant for rambling, I’m sure this will digress into much more random topics in no time.  Oh look, something shiny.

Anyway, all this is to say hi.  Please follow me down the rabbit hole.  It won’t be nearly as bad as that time I had that livejournal.

p_c

4 thoughts on “Firsties!

Leave a Reply

